June 2024 Employee Excellence Awards

The following employees were selected to receive the June Employee Excellence Awards and recognition at the June 2024 school board meeting.

Kristin Glafka Andre, Teacher, Lincoln Elementary
Aiko Chappell, Mental Health and Wellness Coordinator, Thomas Jefferson Middle School
Carmen Everingham, Teacher, Discovery and Thomas Jefferson Middle Schools
Maria Henry, Admin. Clerk, Hudson’s Bay High School
Debbie Jones, Paraeducator, Hazel Dell Elementary

Five employees are recognized between October and June of each school year. Nominations are open to staff, students, parents and community members. Nominees are selected for recognition by a committee of their peers.

In addition to awardees chosen by the peer nomination and Excellence Awards committee voting process, the Board of Directors may recognize recipients who have been nominated by the Superintendent’s Cabinet for demonstrating exceptional leadership and dedication to VPS students and their families.

Kristin Glafka Andre, Teacher

Lincoln Elementary

Kristin Glafka Andre has been an educator at Lincoln Elementary for over two decades. She is the ideal teacher and colleague and her classroom is filled with collaboration, discussion, and joy, fostering a culture of resilience and success. Known for her compassionate nature, she greets students with warm hugs, leaving a lasting smile on every face. Beyond teaching, Kristin leads social gatherings and celebrates milestones and always supports her colleagues in times of need. Her wisdom, integrity, and genuine kindness make her an invaluable asset, inspiring admiration and camaraderie among staff and students. Thank you, Kristin.

Aiko Chappell, Mental Health and Wellness Coordinator

Thomas Jefferson Middle School

Aiko Chappell, a Mental Health Coordinator at Thomas Jefferson Middle School, goes above and beyond her role, sharing her warmth and support with all students. Her contagious positive approach creates a safe environment, encouraging vulnerability and growth. A champion of student identity, she fosters belonging by coordinating affinity spaces, recognizing their vital role in student well-being. Aiko’s dedication extends beyond her responsibilities to students – she consistently prioritizes student needs within the school community. Thank you, Aiko.



Carmen Everingham, Teacher

Discovery and Thomas Jefferson Middle Schools

Carmen Everingham, an orchestra teacher at Thomas Jefferson and Discovery Middle Schools, is a ray of sunshine. She leads with a tremendous amount of empathy and compassion for staff and students. Carmen advocates for and supports her students far beyond her middle school classroom and students look back at their time with her fondly. Carmen is consistently looking to grow as a professional and inspires others to do the same. She is a true asset to our students and colleagues! Thank you, Carmen.



Maria Henry, Admin. Clerk

Hudson’s Bay High School

It’s challenging to capture all of Maria Henry’s contributions as an Admin. Clerk at Hudson’s Bay High School. Maria exudes generosity, always embracing and including staff, students, and parents. Her work ethic is exceptional, and she sets a standard for service to others. She tackles tasks with meticulous attention and dedication, never leaving until the job is completed. With patience and grace, Maria handles every challenge. She embodies everything one would consider for an Employee Excellence Award, and more. Thank you, Maria.

Debbie Jones, Paraeducator

Hazel Dell Elementary

Debbie Jones, a Paraeducator at Hazel Dell Elementary for 34 years, tirelessly supports Multilingual learners at the school, collaborating with the ML Coach to create engaging learning experiences across all grades. She has high expectations and creates a welcoming environment where every student feels a sense of belonging. Besides her commitment to the classroom, Debbie volunteers for various school events and supports teachers with production work, without seeking recognition. Her dedication deserves this acknowledgment and appreciation. Thank you, Debbie.